So about food…

Phew!  Barely made it still posting today, BUT I made it. 🙂

This blog is supposedly about food.  Not just food, but healthy food.  Due to my lack of time this week, I’m sustaining myself on granola bars, green juice and veggie burgers (which doesn’t make for a very interesting blog!)  So instead, I’m going to give a little run-down of some of my fave health foods of all time.  The foods I can go back to every day and I never tire of.  Good, healthy, dependable foods that I know will make my mind and tummy happy.  Drum roll please…

5. The ever-popular Chik Patty.  I mean honestly, does it get much better?  It composes the classic chicken sandwich, delicious “fried” chicken wraps, chicken parmesan,  and goes into my fave chicken nachos.  It can be tossed into a bag while still frozen and be partially thawed by lunch.  It heats in the microwave, oven or toaster oven.  Vegheads and meat-lovers alike enjoy its crispy outside and flavorful inside.  Chik patties = the ultimate versatile food.  Fact.

*Try a Chik Patty wrap with hummus, salsa and sprouts!  Insta-hit.

4. Applesauce!  Loved it as a child, love it as an adult.  It comes in all sorts of tasty flavors (my number one is Mott’s Healthy Harvest Country Berry) and has tons of nutritional benefits.  It’s loaded with fiber (always a plus) and contains antioxidants.  If you get classic cinnamon, it comes with the added benefit of the cinnamon’s anti-inflammatory punch!  Try to avoid the kind with a ton of added sugars.

*For an easy treat, peel and core 1-2 apples.  Put in a microwave-safe dish with a lid and 1/3 cup water.  Microwave for 8-12 minutes until tender.  Add turbinado sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, and/or maple syrup as desired.  Microwave 2 additional minutes.  Mash or puree and enjoy!

3. You’ve heard my spiel before on the health benefits of kale.  Well, I’m not going to stop preaching it.  Not only is it heavenly crisped up in the oven with olive oil but it makes an amazing salad with a nice texture and an almost cabbagey flavor.  I want to try and grow it in my garden this summer!

*Duh, kale chips.  But this is what Bobby Flay says about a great sauteed kale recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 pounds young kale, stems and leaves coarsely chopped
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely sliced
  • 1/2 cup vegetable stock or water
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

Directions

Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and cook until soft, but not colored. Raise heat to high, add the stock and kale and toss to combine. Cover and cook for 5 minutes. Remove cover and continue to cook, stirring until all the liquid has evaporated. Season with salt and pepper to taste and add vinegar.

2. Two words: Oat. Meal.  Okay, it’s one, but I felt it was more dramatic this way.  According to the American Cancer Society, oats have cancer fighting properties, reduce LDL cholesterol, reduce toxicity in the body, and reduce the risk of heart disease.  Oatmeal can be dressed up with natural sugars, Stevia, nut butters, berries or other fruit, protein powder, milk or yogurt, or pretty much anything!  A fun breakfast is an oatmeal bar, where you get to load up your oatmeal bowl with a ton of tasty topping options; my endearing term for this dish is the “Hot Mess!”  Another great way to enjoy oatmeal is savory rather than sweet.  Cook oatmeal with a dash of salt and top with eggs (any style), cheese, salsa, or any other toppings you want!

*Blending big handfuls of spinach into your oat bowl is highly encouraged.  It’s a great way get a big dark, leafy green serving without even noticing!  I find it hard to stomach green sweet oats, but love blending them into my Huevos Rancher-oats!

And my number one favorite health food of all time is….

1. ALMOND BUTTER!  Did you really expect anything else?  Almond butter lowers cholesterol and reduces the risk of diabetes all while being the most delicious thing EVER!  It is great on toast, in oatmeal, as a dip for pita chips or fruits and veggies, or simply by the spoonful!

*I have a mondo sweet tooth that can sometimes get me in a dangerous cycle of eating followed by feeling bad about myself which leads to eating, etc etc.  BUT I don’t have to feel bad about filling a spoon up with almond butter and sprinkling it with several semi-sweet chocolate chips or topping it with a Dove Dark Chocolate heart!  It only takes one spoonful for me to be satisfied 🙂

Well, that’s all folks!  It’s a late goodnight for me and Enchanted dreams to all of youuuu 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

