Work it out

“The strongest muscles are made by tearing them apart over and over again, only to be rebuilt stronger and stronger.”

-Mastin Kipp

I definitely ripped my muscles apart last night.

I didn’t realize that when I switched from cheerleading and tumbling workouts to running and yoga workouts, I lost a LOT of fast-twitch muscles (read ALL of my fast-twitch muscles).

Thank heavens the KU Recreation Center opened yesterday so I can work myself silly before a photo shoot coming up in February.  And thank heavens for 3-2-1 Jump! class instructors who pull you aside to tell you if you are going to pass out, sit out for a three-minute circuit.  Was it that obvious?

3-2-1 Jump! is a class you can actually do anywhere. 

DO: Pump, pump the jams my friends, you’ll need the motivation.  Three minutes of kick boxing cardio, one minute of upper body strength, one minute of lower body strength, and one minute of jump rope.  Six circuits. For the upper body strength, hit back muscles (flies), shoulder muscles (lateral raises), biceps (biceps curls), triceps (Hershey-kiss pushups), traps (shrugs), and then just regular pushups, a different muscle group for each circuit.

DON’T: Nearly pass out in the middle of class, stop to get a drink of water, then have to grab your bag and run so you get sick in the bathroom instead of in the middle of all the other class-goers.

I don’t know what it is for me, but any sort of cardio workout that incorporates a lot of arm work I get incredibly light-headed, dizzy and often faint.  Does this happen to anyone else?  Any suggestions?

P to the S: Check out the comment update on my last post.  B was very, very sorry and I got kisses and coffee out of the deal.

Snarfage today:
Breakfast: Green juice (1/2 cucumber, 1/2 bag spinach, couple hunks o’ broccoli, 2 carrots, 1 green apple, 3 stalks celery, ginger, cayenne)
Lunch: Salad (spinach, olive oil, Bragg’s, cayenne) + a little GRE studying and some pleasure reading of the classic Grimm’s Fairy Tales
Dinner: Out with a couple of friends visiting from Georgia!  Not sure what it’s going to be yet – hopefully something vegan and delish.

Kickstart your 2011 workout regimen with a 3-2-1 Jump! class, my friends.  Also, if you’re working out at home, check out Zuzana at http://www.bodyrock.tv/.  The workouts are awesome, always varied, and sweaty sweaty sweaty.  Remember you get out what you put in, so balance cardio kick-ass-ness with meditation and yoga which will allow you to center your mind and really focus when you ARE doing strength and cardio (i.e. your workouts will be more effective – who wouldn’t want that?)

How go your New Year’s resolutions?  I have definitely been organizing my time better, but I don’t think I’ll be really tested until school starts again in a couple of weeks!

Well, I’m off to actually get some work done.  Have a loverly, enchanted day, all!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

