Chippy Almond…Berry….Burnt…awwa, crap.

Hello, Enchanted Dears!

For the love of Pete.  Spending so much time talking about cooking and granola bars…I couldn’t resist.  Whipped out Madam Discover and went grocery shopping.  All to your benefit!  I was so excited I stole Sarah’s blogging day – whoops.  She’ll be chit chatting you up tomorrow, no worries.

This is my haul of snackage for the trip – reviews on Primal Strips to come…

And since this is a food blog, where we talk about food, this is what I made B and I for dinner last night.  Stir fryyyyy.

Pre-cut, pre-washed veggies 3 for $5 at HyVee?  Yes, please.


The finished product, ready to go and dinner with B at work (mine with greens atop).

And on to granoler bars!

My ingredients in all their glory:

I bought a mix of almonds, cranberries, dried raspberries and white and dark chocolate chips, so these granola bars are…well…Chippy Almond Berry?  My recipe-naming could use some work.  NOTE: DO NOT USE THIS RECIPE.  It needs some a little tweaking still…stay tuned for another attempt.  When the recipe is perfect I’ll put it up on a seperate “Recipes” page.

I mixed up all the dry ingredients,

brought the wet ingredients to a slow boil in a saucepan, mixed it all together and baked at 350 degrees for 35 minutes.

Voila!

Chippy Almond Berry Bars, until otherwise named.  This is the recipe I used – again, stay tuned for an ever-so-slightly-better version.

Dry:
1/2 cup oat flour (I ground oats in my magic bullet until floury)
2 cups rolled oats (mine were the Bob’s Red Mill gluten free variety)
2 cups crispy brown rice
a buncha almonds (sort of chopped up in my bullet), cranberries, dried raspberries, and dark chocolate chips
1/4 tsp salt
Wet:
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar in the raw
1/4 cup Earth Balance (vegan spread)
1/4 cup canola oil
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup maple syrup (I used the lite kind, but pure maple would be much tastier and healthier!)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp corn starch

My mistakes:
Taking a bite when these first came out of the oven.  I didn’t need that tongue.
Baking too long!  I burnt the edges.
They came out crispier than I would have liked.  They’re pretty chewy, but not chewy enough for moi!
Putting in chocolate chips with the dry ingredients – when I added the hot, sticky stuff they all melted and turned my otherwise pretty bars muddy brown.  Next time I’ll be sure to do a quick mix in at the end!  Their initial brown color is also what made it so hard to determine when they were done.  I’m thinking 20 minutes next time and just let them finish setting up after.  Since the goo is cooked before being mixed in anyway, they probably don’t need that long in the oven.
I might swap the corn starch out for a little daub of corn syrup – SIGH.  But how else do I make them sticky (not crunchy) goodness?!?!
I think I’m going to take out the salt and instead mix in a 1/2 tsp of baking soda just before I pour the goo over the dry mix – that’s the secret to even coating in good caramel corn, maybe it will work for my granola bars too!

I am off to Colorado!  I won’t lie, it’s already almost dark – might not get those wonderful pictures I’d hoped for.  Enchanted weekend, all!

Leave a comment

Filed under Healthy Living

Leave a Reply

