Indulgence and Enchiladas.

Indulgence.

What comes to mind when you think of the word?

Do you dream of creamy, dreamy ice cream?  Getting a massage?  Buying a new pair of shoes?

What about eating Thin Mint cookies for breakfast, chocolate torte for lunch, and creme brulee, peanut butter cupcakes, and cream-filled strawberry cups for dinner?

You might think indulgence.

Or you might think “vom” – like I am now.

To a point, indulgence is a great thing.

When you’ve been snowed out of the gym for two days and haven’t been getting in the runs your body is craving and have ALSO eaten sugar for or with every meal in those two days – no longer great.

On the positive side, I think I am officially sugared out.  Which NEVER happens in the land o’ Meg.

Tomorrow?  I’m dedicated to getting up an hour early and going for a run even though I’m going to work til 2:30 tonight.  I’m dedicated to a much needed three-day cleanse next week.  I’m dedicated to making juice for breakfast.  I’m dedicated to a salad for lunch.  I’m dedicated to a clean dinner – which can actually be one of these little guys I have frozen in my freezer for on-the-go meals!

I promised you Enchanted Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chaladas.

And here they are.

Based on the recipe by Cathe Olson in The Vegetarian Mother’s Cookbook with a little Spicy Mama (Sarah) flair.

 

Enchanted Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chaladas

Ingredients:
Tortillas (we used flour, but corn would be just as good and gluten free!)
2 large sweet potatoes, baked, cooled and cubed
2 cans black beans rinsed
1 onion
1 bunch cilantro, chopped (tear off leaves and then chop them up a bit – don’t use the stems!)
1 can green chiles
1 can green chile enchilada sauce
1 jar green chile salsaey sauce
2 bags white cheese (we went Mexi-blend, but mozzarella or monterey would be great – or you could completely leave out and would still be great!)
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp cumin
Salt and pepper to taste
1/4 tsp white pepper
Coconut oil (I often sub olive oil when recipes call for other things – I DO NOT recommend that for this recipe specifically.  The coconut oil heightens the sweetness of the potatoes paired with the spicy green chile sauce.) 

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. Blend enchilada sauce, green chile salsa, and white pepper in a blender or processor.  Blending breaks down the seeds and makes it a little smoother.  We also lightly heated ours on the stove to enhance the flavors, but I think you could leave or take this step.

3. Saute onion in coconut oil in large skillet or fry pan.  As starts to cook up, add cubed sweet potato, black beans, oregano, chili powder, cumin, and salt and pepper.  Stir carefully so as not to totally break down black beans (but some smooshing is okay!).

Please excuse poor lighting.

4. While cooking, start to “sauce” tortillas.  Place a spoonful of sauce on a plate.  Set a tortilla on top and rub all around.  Put a spoonful of sauce on top of that tortilla and spread around with spoon.  Top with another tortilla.  Sauce.  Tortilla.  Sauce….you get the picture.  If you’re lucky you’ll have an adorable little seven-year-old hand helping you spread all the sauce out!

5. Take a picture of the chef so blog readers believe you actually cook.

Please ignore my need for a hair cut.

6. When potato/bean mixture seems heated through, take off burner.

7. Dump cheese in a bowl and toss in cilantro.

8. Begin to assemble chaladas.  Saucey tortilla + potatoey beans + cheesey cilantro.  Roll up tightly and pile up on a plate.

9. Lightly spray a large skillet or griddle heated to medium with cooking spray.  Brown enchiladas on each side.  NOTE: I put four in my pan, cooked on one side, flipped and cooked on the other side, and then used tongs to pick each up and rub them on the pan to brown on the skinny sides that have not yet touched the skillet surface.  THE BROWNING IS THE SECRET TO AMAZING, CHEWY ENCHILADAS!  (Excuse the pic – I’m no Allie, but you get the point.)

I'm no Allie, but you get the point.

10. Stack browned enchiladas in a large, greased baking pan.

Chaladaaaaas.

11. Dump a little extra sauce and cheese over the top if you so desire.

11. Bake at 375 degrees for 20-30 minutes – everything is already cooked, so this is just the final step that melts the cheese and makes them hot for eating!

12. Devour with family and a glass of wine.  OR curl up with a good movie, an enchilada, and a blanket.  Think, “indulgence.”

Perfection.

Enchanted Thursday, darlings!  Sarah and I’s goal is to have our “eating on the cheaps” grocery plan up for tomorrow.  We MAY delay this to Saturday because that’s when we’re actually going to go shopping and our perception of how shopping for seven may be a little different than it actually will be.

What is indulgence for you? – Leave a comment and let us know!

For me?  Definitely something spa-like or shopping related (I’m such a girl!).  I would much rather splurge on an experience indulgence than anything.  I read something on Averie’s blog this morning that made me think about my eating choices.  When I put something in my mouth, does it help me reach any of my goals?  My goal is to be healthier and get my muscle tone back – did anything I ate today help me do that?  Well, no.

But,

nothing wrong with a little indulgence. 😉

3 Comments

Filed under Healthy Living

3 responses to “Indulgence and Enchiladas.

  1. Pingback: The word “dickens” makes me giggle. « Live Enchanted

  2. sarahatoms

    Okay, I am no veg-head (though I should be) like my wee sis, Meg, but these enchiladas were seriously delicious!!!! And, lovely Meg, your Paint illustration is simultaneously awesome and HILARIOUS. You are a nutty nut nut.
    Word of advice, though- the sweet potatoes had a little crunchy “bite” to them even though they cooked a healthy amount of time, which I loved; however, if you are looking for something a little less noticeable(for instance, if the idea of savoury Mexican-style sweet potatoes freaks you out and you would rather they be a little more in the periphery) either make sure they are steamed thoroughly first before adding them to the mixture, or cook the onions and then set them aside and cook the potatoes and then mix it all together, OR OR steam the potatoes and mash them and then add them to the skillet with all the tasty stuff.
    Any way you decide to make it, they are going to turn out GAH-mazing…

  3. I just took a bite out of my computer screen trying to eat one of these. You owe me a new computer screen. Will accept payment in enchiladas.

Leave a Reply

