“All critics should be assassinated” – Man Ray.

And in that spirit, it’s time for some promised food reviews!  Hopefully they are all mostly-positive enough that I won’t be ninja attacked.

Primal Strips

Primal Strips ripped out of the “Enchanted Approved” starting blocks with no preservatives, non-GMO’s, being all natural and vegan.  I was truly amazed at the texture of these Meatless Vegan Jerky Strips; I hate to admit it, but there are a few things I miss from my meat-eating days, jerky being one of them.  The strips have great bite and even carnivorous B liked them!

The Texas BBQ flavor was definitely my favorite of the two.  It was sweet, smoky, salty: everything I want in a filling snack.  I wasn’t as thrilled with the Hickory Smoked flavor; it left a bit of a strange aftertaste in my mouth that alerted my brain to, “this stuff isn’t real!”  (Check out yesterday’s poll: how do you want meat substitutes to taste?)

Overall, this is absolutely something I would keep handy for on-the-go snackage.  Other flavors available (and that I’m dying to try!) include: Thai Peanut, Mesquite Lime, Teriyaki, and Hot & Spicy.  I’ll keep you updated as I try them all.

Primal Strips: Enchanted Approved!

 

Superfood Green Powder

Amazing Grass seems a great company with a great overall goal: natural well-being.  I absolutely support that and was pretty excited when I saw these little packets at Whole Foods.  Sometimes it can be tough or impossible to get my green juice made every single morning and having these handy would make me feel much better!

I think I’m going to put this review on hold.  I have tried one flavor, the Lemon Lime and I mixed it into water.  I won’t lie to you, I had to hold my breath and chug as quickly as possible.  It had a strange, chocolatey, chalky taste that I can’t even quite explain.  BUT I did feel clear and energized throughout the afternoon after I had it.  I would almost be willing to choke it down for as great as I felt!  I’m going to try the picking up the different flavors and mixing it into fruit juice, something they recommend on the site.

Amazing Grass Superfood Powder: Review still under consideration!

Clif MoJo Bars: Peanut Butter Pretzel

As a girl-on-the-go, I always keep a protein or granola bar in my bag; so when I received a coupon for half off one of the fairly-new MoJo bars I was excited to try them!  I opted for Peanut Butter Pretzel, though they have several flavors including Honey Roasted Peanut, Mountain Mix, and Mixed Nut.

Most impressive was the bar’s size: for 200 calories, it actually took me more than two bites to get through it, which can be rare in a power bar.  I ate it with a coffee around 9:30 am and wasn’t hungry for lunch until almost 2 in the afternoon!  Now that’s some heft.
The texture was somewhere in between crunchy and chewy, with lots of peanut butter chips and slightly-salty pretzel sticks.  I was also thrilled to find it much more a treat than typical Clif bars, that can sometimes leave a funky “healthy” aftertaste in my mouth.

Overall I was THRILLED with this bar and will absolutely be buying them again.  I also want to try the MoJo “Dipped” bars, that feature flavors like Peanut Butter and Jelly – if it tastes anything like these little treats from my childhood, I will be switching over to a diet of only Clif products.

Clif MoJo Bars: Enchanted Approved!

Happy Saturday, Enchanted Ones!  What is your favorite thing about Saturday?

Mine is waking up and realizing I still have a whole two days until Monday – such an amazing feeling.  It’s 1:30…I need to get some stuff done before I’ve wasted this whole Saturday away!

1 Comment

Filed under Healthy Living

One response to ““All critics should be assassinated” – Man Ray.

  1. sarahatoms

    I love the Texas BBQ Primal Strips! If you like spicy things (like I do do do), the Hot & Spicy is superb, too…
    Haven’t tried the MoJo bars, but they sound amazing. I love peanut butter and pretzels, that sort of salty/ sweet combo is a winner everytime, so I am sure I would love that flavour.

Leave a comment