No one likes a cranky old bat.

“I always say shopping is cheaper than a psychiatrist.”  ~Tammy Faye Bakker

“Whoever said money can’t buy happiness simply didn’t know where to go shopping.”  ~Bo Derek

 

A good blogger would snap pictures right and left as she spends five lovely, perfect hours at the mall with her sister.

A good blogger would also remember to charge her camera ahead of time so she could do so.

I’ve been in a bit of a winter-funk lately.  I tried sleeping more.  Doing this detoxin’ thang to get my body in balance.  Smiling more (I actually came to the realization that this was missing when I went to my 8 pm yoga class Monday night, tried to smile in one of my poses, and realized my mouth felt all funny because I hadn’t smiled the ENTIRE day. And that’s just not how we do things in an enchanted life, lady).  Meditation, yoga, family time – I have been trying and trying, but just couldn’t shake the general feeilngs of sadness.

Solution for this morose mama? 

Shopping, shopping, shopping.  Granted, this isn’t always a solution, but it sure was yesterday.  I haven’t selflessly spent money on myself in a long while – typically I spend money, but carry around some pretty intense feelings of guilt about it.  NOT THIS TIME!  I spent the whole thirty-minute car ride home reciting mantras about how I was allowed to be happy and be free of guilt and I am feeling pretty fabulous today.  Still on my list of purchases before graduation: a suit and my camera love.

Best purchase yesterday: Urban Decay Eye Shadow Primer.  This stuff is phenom and makes your eye shadow go on smooth, vibrant, and with a ton of staying power.  100% worth the 22 bucks to keep me looking awake and dolled up all day long instead of sleepy and bare-faced by noon.


There’s really no quicker way to destroy your relationships and feelings of self-worth than being a cranky old bitty all the time – no one wants to hang out with that girl.  Whether it’s taking a minute to breathe, taking a day off work, going to a yoga class, busting out a run, stopping by a pub to enjoy a St. Patty’s day green beer, or heading for the mall to pick up a little something that makes you smile, do something today that makes you feel fabulous.  And seriously – pick up that eyeshadow primer, diva.

You’ve got a diem to carpe – go get it!

Enchanted (i.e. safe and fun) St. Patrick’s celebrations, all!

1 Comment

Filed under Beauty, Everyday Namaste, Healthy Living

One response to “No one likes a cranky old bat.

  1. Pingback: I have this thing called a “blog.” | Live Enchanted

Leave a Reply

