I’m not just anybody

Do you ever find yourself with a SUPER annoying song stuck in your head?  Yeah, that is totally what I am feeling right now.

My manfriend loves teh rap and teh emo and teh screamo.

Anyhoo, the dude listens to “Bedrock” (I think that’s what it’s called, I really don’t have any desire to know) religiously.  I frickin’ HATE that song and yet somehow I find myself with the silly chorus looping again and again through my brain so pardon me if I am a bit

OUT THERE

right now.

This girl loves alternative/indie/folk/jazz/classical/punk/post punk/brit pop/bluegrass/low fi/new wave etc. etc.

So in order to save my brain from further harm, I am going to both listen to/share with you one of my favourite songs currently…

It’s just fantastic.  I love Beirut from the bottom of my soul and that accordion/bells/egg shaker (or cabasa) combo with that haunting melody over the top just touches something deep inside me.  I have literally almost teared up on a number of occassions listening to this song.

Lyrics, for those interested…

The Concubine
Beirut

I’ve been so tired
One child, I wait for room to spare
I can’t wait, child, and ride
It’s all an empire long beheaded

I am grateful roaming
And so I long for your beacon riverside
Where I rest tonight

Down, autumn falls down
Autumn falls down
And I can hear the sound
All that for miles around it

Autumn falls down
Autumn falls down
And I just roam around
Oh, autumn never lands

Autumn never lands
Autumn falls down
All I can do to end it
I can never end it

Autumn falls down
Autumn falls down
All I can do to end it
I can never end it

I hope you enjoy it as much as I do…

Leave a comment

Filed under Representin' the Media

Leave a Reply

